sophiej.reismee.nl

First day at work

This morning we left the house at half past 8 to drop off Logan at her highschool on the way to work, it was really nice to see what an actual American highschool looks like.. just like in the movies! ;) Then we arrived at Carolyn's work and that is, for those of you who don't know that yet, a news anchor for KNLBC news. She showed me her desk and introduced me to a lot of nice people. Her desk is situated in a place where all of the other news anchors are as well. The man who normally works next to Carolyn broke his foot so I can use his desk in the meantime. It is very funny how you can walk past someone or speak to them and then a few minutes later you see them on a television screen. Because Carolyn had to tell her boss what I'm doing here, I had to have a small interview with 2 ladies about my intensions.. which was kind of scary because, of course, I'm not a college student or long term intern like they normally have at the news station. Luckily they were both very nice. I was allowed to sit at the morning meeting, here they discuss what news they are going to be handling that day. It was very different than I had expected it to be because everyone was new to (most) of the subjects and some reporters pitched a few ideas which are then discussed and devided amongst the other reporters. This was very interesting to watch. After the morning meeting, Carolyn went to do her make-up at her make-up artist, which I thought was very funny because the male reporters (who had very white teeth) also did their make-up. Then I was allowed to sit in the back of the set whilst they were reporting live, again this was different than I expected because there was nobody in the room exept of me and the reporters, the cameras were all atomatically controlled by the controll room, where I was also allowed to sit during a newscast later. It was very nice to see how the directors have to be able to adjust and handle quickly.

In the lunch break, Carolyn took me to see a bit of studio city, this is where a lot of shows and film sets are so that was a great experiencw, unfortunatly it is very big and we only got to see a small part of it. Also, you are not allowed to make pictures, luckily I could secretly take a few pictures of a street that looks real but is actually madr up out of plastic and fake buildings.

After the lunch break Carolyn had to prepare for her show at 6 pm and I watched some tv at the desk as I was a little bit tired. I also got to talk to some more people who work at the station which was nice because they all have different responsabilities and tasks. We went home at 7pm and dropped past a grocery store to pick up a cake for Kevin's birthday which we are about to celebrate..

Reacties

Reacties

marjan

Hoi Sophie, wat klinkt dat allemaal boeiend en inspirerend. Kan me voorstellen dat je moe wordt van alle indrukken. Mag ik je een compliment geven? Wat druk jij je goed uit in het amerikaans engels????.Hoe bevallen die amerikanen tot nu toe? Open en vriendelijk toch?
George al ontmoet????? Schiet es op dan! Maai zn tuin of bied een senseo aan.

Ik vind het erg leuk deze verhalen en schrijf maar elke dag!
Liefs,
Tante Marjan
X

marjan

Die 5 vraagtekens achter engels had een smiley moeten zijn!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!