sophiej.reismee.nl

2nd work day

This morning we arrived at the NBC office on time for the morning meeting again after dropping off Logan. Today I had decided to follow closely a few subjects that were chosen. These were:

1. A man who had been injured seriously after police officers had beaten him up before arresting him due to a failed runaway. The man wanted to sew the officers (sewing people seems to be a whole industry in America) but he settled for only 600 dollars, which the reporters found a bit fishy because it seems like a small amount of money.

2. A woman was filming police officers whilst they were arresting a bunch of people when one of the officers walked up to her, took her phone and slammed it on the ground. A neighbour filmed the whole thing. Again, of course, the woman is sewing the police officer.

3. A woman was ready to take surgery for a tumor in her brain when the doctor found out that it wasn't a tumor but an embryo of her twin.

Only the first to storys made the cut because of lack of evidence and video shots. I met a kind lady who I was allowed to follow throughout the collecting of information and even the way news items come to their attention, this was especially cool because there was another car chase and I sat and watched how she commanded for a helicopter and a newsreporter. This was a small part of my research for my pws that I wanted to share with you, I won't bore you with it anymore from now on ;)

For lunch I had to walk a small part of universal studios (in my last report I called it studio city which was wrong) and as Carolyn had an appointment I had some time for myself. It was fun to sit there and watch tourists coming by in small busses whilst they were trying to figure out if you were someone famous. A lady sat at my table and she told me she was a make-up artist, she also told me I looked Russian which I did not take as a compliment..

The rest of the day I attended some meetings and interviewd some people. It's exiting that everyone who works for the news now knows my name and I know my way around the building. I can walk into control rooms, sets and offices and everyone smiles at me and asks me how my day has been. Tena and Rosa (the ladies I were shadowing today) even printed emails and scedules of news items for me. Working from 9-7 is quite tyring and sometimes very boring, especially when you don't have anything you really have to do ;)

Luckily it is still very exiting and fun to watch everything that happens before news gets to the public!

Reacties

Reacties

tante marjan

Russisch ook. Lekker Sophie!

familie Hagenbeek

Wow het is wel spannend wat je daar allemaal meemaakt en leuk dat je zo snel in het team opgenomen wordt. Wat zul je moe zijn 's avonds, zijn lange dagen zo te horen.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!